Avoiding another J name

My father had a bit of a preference to name his children similar names to his – Juozas. After naming my brother Juozas, the name for Joseph in Lithuanian, my dad wanted to name me Jonas – Lithuanian for John. However, with my mum being heavily pregnant she wanted to have her say and not go with such similar sounding names, it would have been confusing. She adamantly decided to go for the name Paulius (Paul) and so I came to be known as Paulius Matevicius. Being brought up in London however, I decided to shorten my name to Paul as it was easier for people to pronounce. I now look to change my name, or at least my surname as I don’t feel it rings well enough.

Leave a Reply

